Lamar City Council Remains the Same

Lamar City Council

Lamar City Council

There were no challenges to the current line-up of the Lamar City Council for the November General Election, according to Lamar City Clerk, Linda Williams. As such, the current council members will not face an election on this year’s ballot. Anyone eligible to serve on the council had until August 25 to submit their petition to the city clerk’s office.

There were five potential contests as four council members and the mayor’s position were open. Councilmembers Anne Marie Crampton, Beverly Haggard and Gerry Jenkins will serve new, four year terms and Felix Dias, who was appointed to replace Ron Cook on the council, will see the remainder of a four year term. Mayor Roger Stagner, who serves at large with no ties to a specific district, will serve a two year term. Voters will be asked to decide on whether to approve a contract extension between the City of Lamar and Atmos Energy until 2035.

By Russ Baldwin

Filed Under: BusinessCitycommunityFeaturedLamarPolitics


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.