Holly High School Class of 2015 graduates with nearly $450,000 in Scholarships

Holly High School Class of 2015 at graduation

Holly High School Class of 2015 at graduation

HOLLY, CO – Seventeen young men and women crossed a stage to a whole new beginning on May 17.  Holly High School held commencement for the Class of 2015 – a class that has accomplished much in their four years of high school and was rewarded for it. During the graduation ceremony, the class was presented $446,000 in scholarship awards.

“This class is going places from Los Angeles to Manhattan, Kansas; Canyon, Texas to Omaha, Nebraska and all points in between.  As hard as they have worked this academic year, I have no doubt that we are going to see great things out of this class.  It has been a huge pleasure being part of their high school career,” said Monica Leiker, Holly High School Guidance Counselor.

The following is a list of graduates, their post-secondary plans, and any scholarship monies they were awarded:

Karen Avalos will be attending Colorado State University at Pueblo to major in nursing.  She received the CSU-P Welcome to the Pack scholarship for $1,000; Holly Old Timers Building Association for $1,000; Lamar Community College Colorado Pride for $1,000; Holly Community Corporation for $1,000; Holly-Hartman Alumni Association for $500; and the Colorado Eastgate Benevolent Mason’s Fund for $500.

Karina Avalos is bound for the University of Northern Colorado pursuing nursing.

Oscar Calderon is enrolling at the University of Colorado at Denver majoring in physical therapy. Oscar is the recipient of a Daniels Fund Scholarship that provides full tuition valued at $105,000 at UCD.

Francis Guerra will be attending West Texas A&M University seeking a degree in social work and sociology.  She received scholarships from the Holly Community Corporation for $1,500; Holly-Hartman Alumni Association, $1,000; Billy Dennis Memorial, $500; and Town of Holly/Arkansas River Power Authority, $500.

Haydden Humburg is headed to Wichita State University where he will major in business administration. WSU awarded him a Freshman Merit scholarship valued at $8,000.

Hannah Kalma will serve our country having enlisted in the United States Army as a healthcare specialist.  Hannah’s Montgomery G.I. Bill award is worth more than $61,000. Lamar Community College provided a Colorado Pride Scholarship to Hannah for $1,000.

Bailey Kennedy is enrolling at Kansas State University majoring in Chemistry with a Pre-Medicine emphasis. He was awarded a $34,000 Merit Scholarship from Baylor University, a $32,000 Purple and White Scholarship from K-State, and $500 from the Richard Siegfried Memorial IMPACT scholarship fund.

Tristan Nelson will be attending Grace University in Omaha, Nebraska majoring in psychology and sociology.  Tristan has received a full tuition scholarship from the Colorado River Indian Tribes valued at $110,000 and a Grace University basketball scholarship for $15,000.

Ryan Nordyke is bound for Kansas State University where he will seek a Construction Science and Management degree. Ryan received scholarships from K-State Honors for $32,000; K-State College of Engineering Initiative, $8,000; K-State Wabash Cannonball, $5,000; Ray Charitable Trust, $4,000; Southeast Colorado Power Basin, $1,000; Colorado High School Coaches Association, $1,000; Holly-Hartman Alumni, $1,000; Ed McKeever Memorial, $1,000; Barth Family Farms, $500; Richard Siegfried Memorial IMPACT, $500; and Lyndon Wagner Memorial, $250.

Jazmin Orozco will attend Lamar Community College for agriculture production management. She received the LCC Colorado Pride scholarship for $1,000 and Holly-Hartman Alumni scholarship for $500.

Bryan Ortiz is enrolling at Lamar Community College.  The Holly-Hartman Alumni Association awarded him a $500 scholarship.

Mason Pierce is bound for Northwest Kansas Technical College for diesel mechanics. Mason received the NKTC Ryan Lieberknecht Memorial scholarship for $500; Town of Holly/ARPA, $500; Prowers County 4-H Foundation, $500; and the Richard Siegfried Memorial IMPACT for $500.

Carolina Rodriguez will be attending Adams State University to major in nursing. She was awarded the Linda Neugebauer Parker scholarship, $2,000; LCC Colorado Pride, $1,000; Holly Community Corporation, $1,000; and Holly-Hartman Alumni, $500.

Jose Rodriguez is enrolling at the American Musical and Dramatic Academy in Los Angeles, California. AMDA presented him with a $3,500 Merit Scholarship.

Halie Schenck will attend Lamar Community College to major in nursing and cosmetology. She was awarded the LCC Presidential scholarship for $2,000; LCC Colorado Pride, $1,000; Prowers County 4-H Foundation, $500; Town of Holly/ARPA, $500; Grogan Family Memorial, $500; and Richard Siegfried Memorial IMPACT, $250.

Jimmy Tarango is enrolling at the Academy of Massage Essentials in Colorado Springs.

Jesus Terrazas will enter the workforce in the commercial trucking industry.


Press Release with Courtesy Photo

Filed Under: CollegeEducationFeaturedHollyMedia ReleaseSchoolYouth


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.