District VI 4-H Senate Meeting Elections

4H Logo

LAS ANIMAS – District VI 4-H Senate meeting elections were held At April 7. The newly elected President is Blake Mueller, Otero County; Vice president is Chelsea Lewis, Otero County; Secretary is Rod Hall, Crowley County; Treasurer is Lakota Roberson, Kiowa County; Reporter is Chad Russell, Crowley County; and the Executive Committee is Zane Jenkins, Baca County; Mitch Garcia, Bent County; and Kylee Holden, Prowers County.

Prior to elections, outgoing President Rhett Larsen led discussion on how to raise money for the “1910 Club” in a statewide effort to raise funds to refurbish the 4-H dorm section of the Colorado State Fairgrounds. In a district competition, each county will compete to raise the funds through collection jars. The reward will include tossing a “pie” in the face of the losing county’s extension agent while at the State 4-H Conference. A minimum of $500 district-wide must be raised for the winning county to have the reward. The rest of the money goes to the state fairground project.

The senate members, with representatives from all seven counties present, also came up with ideas for creating a district flag, with a committee finalizing its look and forwarding the design to the state. The members also signed up for bowl competition teams for the June 18-21 State 4-H Conference in Fort Collins.


By Chad Russell
Incoming 2013-2014 District VI 4-H Reporter

Filed Under: AgriculturecommunityEducationEventsSchoolYouth


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.