LCC Honors Academic Achievement in Phi Theta Kappa Ceremony

Phi Theta Kappa Induction 2014

Front row, left to right: Abi Cruz, Brianne Liebelt, Jessie Tecklenburg, Regina Westhoff, Heather Shivers, Marci Amrine. Back row, left to right: Ariana Yanez, Cheri Howard, Abbie Hopper, Sterling Molesworth, Darcy Widener, Tallie Harmon, and Maggie Schneider. Not pictured, Lisa Byrne and Jessica Miranda.

(Lamar, Colorado, January 8, 2014) Lamar Community College’s Beta Eta Gamma chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed its newest members during the fall induction ceremony on November 13. New inductees are: Marci Amrine, Lisa Marie Byrne, Abigail Cruz, Tallie Jo Harmon, Abby Samantha Hopper, Cheri L. Howard, Brianne Elizabeth Liebelt, Jessica L. Miranda, Sterling Vance Molesworth, Maggie Ann Schneider, Heather L’na Shivers, Jessica Tecklenburg, Regina Irene Westhoff, Darcy Rebecca Widener, and Ariana Yanez.

After a welcome from LCC Vice President Cheryl Sanchez, two guest speakers shared their perspectives on academic excellence: LCC and Phi Theta Kappa alumnus Michael Beard discussed the meanings of Phi Theta Kappa’s symbols and encouraged the audience to pursue their own dreams in every avenue of life. LCC TRiO Resource Counselor Deanna Siemsen gave a dramatic presentation of Sojourner Truth, who worked fearlessly for the rights of both African Americans and women in the 19th century, as a model of what an individual with courage and conviction can achieve.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic honor society with a two-fold mission: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. Founded in 1910, it is the oldest and largest academic honor society of its kind. The Beta Eta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa promotes and honors academic excellence at LCC and is active on campus. To be eligible, students must have a 3.5 grade-point average after completing 12 or more credit hours of college-level work, be currently enrolled, and pursuing an AA, AS, AGS or AAS degree. Phi Theta Kappa members are eligible to apply for millions of dollars in scholarships each year, as well as gain leadership skills and network with other high achieving college students. Induction of new members occurs every fall and spring semester. LCC’s PTK chapter officers are Shealynn McCracken, President; Clint Buringa, Vice President; Monica Gaitonde, Secretary, and Samantha Jenkins, Historian.

For more information on Phi Theta Kappa at LCC, contact David Frankel at 719.336.1547 or Kelly Emick at 719.336.1532.

Filed Under: CollegeEducationLamarSchool


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.