Nolder, PCDI Earn State Economic Development Awards

Lisa Nolder

Economic Development Council of Colorado Presents Annual Awards at Spring Conference in Estes Park 

The Economic Development Council of Colorado, the professional association of economic developers in Colorado, presented its annual awards for excellence at its Spring Conference in Estes Park on Friday, April 27th. The awards luncheon recognized five categories of winners including Volunteer of the Year, Small and Large Communities of the Year, Rookie of the Year and the Economic Development Achievement Award, presented to an outstanding veteran in the profession.

Small Community of the Year – The Small Community of the Year winner is Prowers County and includes the communities of Lamar, Wiley, Bristol, Granada, Hartman, and Holly. These communities work to provide assistance to new and existing businesses with retention, relocation, and expansion needs. They are an active participant with many regional partners including: Prowers County Development, Inc., The Small Business Development Center (SBDC), Southeast Colorado Enterprise Development (SECED), Southern Colorado Economic Development District (SCEDD), Southeast Business Retention, Expansion, and Attraction (SEBREA), and the Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT) and the Colorado Workforce Center.

To date, as a result of the Business Retention Program, 147 business assistance issues have been resolved. Due to business retention programs, jobs are retained in the communities, workforce opportunities remain strong and they pay attention to what is “in their back yard.” Prowers County is known for its business friendly environment, natural resources, renewable energy resources, available land and space, and reliable workforce.

Rookie of the Year – The Rookie of the Year for 2011 is Lisa Nolder, Executive Director of Prowers County Development, Inc. Lisa began her position with PCDI in 2009 and has been in the profession for just over 3 years. Lisa was recognized for her ability to learn and apply economic development skills quickly, to engage directly in supporting the economic vitality of her communities and in working with other business support groups to get the job done. She is well respected by her peers and her community leaders and is deserving of this award.

Other southeast Colorado Communities that have been honored as Past Small Communities of the year include: 1990-La Junta, 1993-Eads, and 1998-Bent County.



Filed Under: BusinesscommunityCountyEconomyEducationEmploymentEnergyGranadaHollyLamarThe Journal AlertWiley


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.