Limited local Elections for November

There will be one new member on the Lamar City Council following the November elections.  Ward 1 Councilman Jim Larrick has decided not to run for re-election and his position will be filled by Anne- Marie Crampton, who has been actively involved in numerous local organizations.  There were no opposing petitions submitted for that council seat.  Incumbent councilwoman, Bev Haggard is being challenged in Ward III by Lamar resident, Angela Warren.  The only other two council positions open for election have not been contested.  Skip Ruedeman is running unopposed for his Ward II seat, as is Mayor Roger Stagner, who serves on the council in an at-large capacity.  According to city clerk, Linda Williams, voters will decide on one ballot question regarding using the city’s website to post information on employee salaries and payment of bills, instead of publishing them in The Lamar Ledger. 

There are no contests for county commissioner seats until next year, but several school districts in the county have open board positions for November.  

The Granada RE-1 District has three seats open for districts, B, D and F.  They will be filled by Regina J. Dorenkamp for District B, Dee Melgosa for District D and Joette DuVall for District F, as they were unopposed. 

Three member-at-large board seats will be filled for the Wiley RE-13JT District.  John Waggoner and Jeff Millspaugh are term limited on the board and Donny Marsh will fill one of the positions, along with Andy Prosser, as both are unopposed.  That leaves one opening on the board which will be filled by board appointment.  Any interested Wiley resident is asked to submit a letter of interest to the School District. 

The Lamar School District had four districts open for candidates.  District B has incumbent Allan Medina running for re-election against Monty Thompson.  This will be the only contested board seat in the election.  Mike Harvey is the only individual who has turned in a petition to run for District C, and as unopposed, he will replace Elizabeth Whitham on the board.  Ronnie Peterson is the only individual who turned in a petition for the board seat for District D and he will remain a member, and Danny Tinnes is the only person who turned in a petition for District F.  Tinnes was filling out a board position for Connie Brase who resigned this past spring. 

As of this article, the Holly RE-3 District has two, member at large seats open.

By Russ Baldwin


Filed Under: communityEducationFeaturedGranadaHollyLamarSchoolWiley


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.