Degree in Hand: LCC Honors Graduates

Presley Askew, John Marrin, and Jen Worth with the LCC graduating class of 2015.

Presley Askew, John Marrin, and Jen Worth with the LCC graduating class of 2015.

Lamar Community College held its 76th Annual Commencement ceremony on May 2, 2015, in the LCC Wellness Center.

A short welcome address was given by President John Marrin.  President Marrin highlighted the college’s strong position including LCC’s high quality of instruction, the college’s recent award as the school with the highest increase in retention with a 15% increase, as well as the upgrades to facilities coming in the near future such as renovation of the large lecture hall and the starting of a new dorm pod.

After the Invocation and National Anthem, both given by graduate Shayne Ybarra, the two class speakers took to the stage.  Miroslava Rangel and Khadijah Vigil were both members of the LCC Women’s Basketball team as well as Phi Theta Kappa.

Miroslava Rangel remarked on the opportunities that she received at Lamar Community College, namely, the opportunity to continue to play basketball and a coach who taught her so much more than just basketball.  She discussed the strong bonds she created while at LCC and how difficult it is to leave behind those great relationships after just two years.  She gave one piece of advice based on her own experience: “When there is something you really want, fight for it. … Don’t ever give up, no matter how hopeless it seems.”

Khadijah Vigil spoke next and highlighted the kindness she experienced in this small community, remarking on how people she didn’t even know were willing to be there for her. She urged her fellow graduates to “find yourselves and love yourselves because there is no other person in this world that is exactly like you.”

The commencement address was delivered by Jen Worth, Interim Associate Vice President of Workforce and Economic Development with the American Association of Community Colleges.  She focuses on empowering community colleges to effectively collaborate with industry, workforce boards, economic development entities, and other community organizations to improve the prosperity of individual workers, businesses, and communities.  Worth has proven herself a dedicated advocate for Lamar Community College.

In her commencement address, Worth reminded students that their hard work would shape the future of others, stating “you are the ones who will make this country well in the years to come.”  She compared the graduates to gladiators, fighting to make the world a better place.  In her final words to the class of 2015, she said, “Congratulations gladiators, best wishes in your next arenas, and my sincerest condolences to anyone or anything that tries to stand in your way.”

President John Marrin certified the graduating class while Presley Askew, member of the State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education, granted authority to confer certificates and degrees.  A reception was held on the lawn outside the Wellness Center immediately following the ceremony.

Top graduates this year at Lamar Community College include those graduating with honors as well as members of Phi Theta Kappa.

Summa Cum Laude Graduates (4.0 GPA) include Kassidy Carter, Stephanie Culver, Mittie Helm, Miranda Kemp, Brandon Lamphier-Shaffer, Josh Lucero, Luke Stratman, and Kathryn Webber.

Magna Cum Laude Graduates (3.75 – 3.99 GPA) include Luke Brock, Lisa Byrne, Brenna Cash, Tiffany Cumming, Krystal Flathers, Luis Hernandez, Garrett Hyde, Justina Mundell, Haley Paradis, Ashley Peterson, Miroslava Rangel, Carol Roberts, Sheyenne Spady, Nathan Stone, Shane Watson, Hector Martinez Yanez, Morgan Young, and Alyssa Zamarripa-Gallegos.

Cum Laude Graduates (3.5 – 3.74 GPA) include Calvin Brown, Heidi Carty, Jordan Christensen, Amber Comer, Amanda Ebsen, Shayla Fox, Abigail Hoffman, Vanessa Maestas, Emily Pritchett, Celina Quayle, Kiri Ricker, and Mickaela Kreeger Shaver.

Graduating members of Phi Theta Kappa include Calvin Brown, Lisa Byrne, Heidi Carty, Brenna Cash, Jordan Christensen, Amber Comer, Mittie Helm, Luis Hernandez, Garrett Hyde, Gabriela Jimenez, Miranda Kemp, Brandon Lamphier-Shaffer, Vanessa Maestas, Jamica McReavy, Ashley Peterson, Emily Pritchett, Celina Quayle, Miroslava Rangel, Luke Stratman, Khadijah Vigil, Kathryn Webber, Rachel Wineski, Hector Martinez Yanez, and Morgan Young.

Congratulations to all Lamar Community College graduates of 2015!

LCC Press Release

Filed Under: CollegeEducationEventsFeaturedMedia ReleaseSchoolYouth


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.