Two LCC Students Selected for All-Colorado Academic Team

New LCC LOGOEach year the All-Colorado Academic Team Luncheon and Awards Ceremony honors the top high-performing, community service oriented students from 14 Colorado community colleges.  These students belong to their college’s chapter(s) of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society and have been selected as being the “best of the best” from their respective institutions.  On Wednesday, March 11, two Lamar Community College students will be recognized at the 17th Annual Community College All-Colorado Academic Team Luncheon and Awards Ceremony: Miroslava Rangel and Rebecca Abrams.

Miroslava Rangel is a sophomore from Denver.  She is completing her Associate of Science Degree this year, and is also a member of the Runnin’ Lopes Women’s Basketball team.  Miroslava has distinguished herself both in the classroom and on the court with her academic excellence and her commitment to her sport.  Miroslava is one of the Presidents of LCC’s Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, and is also involved with off campus activities, including volunteering with community youth basketball programs in Lamar.  Rebecca Abrams is a sophomore from Lamar.  She is earning her Associate of Arts Degree, and is a Vice President for Scholarship in LCC’s Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.  She is active in community organizations such as MOPS, and volunteers as a historic interpreter at Bent’s Old Fort.  Both of these outstanding student leaders were nominated by the LCC campus based on their academic achievements and GPA, their citizenship and engagement with the LCC campus, and their demonstrated character and integrity throughout their career at LCC.

This year, twenty-seven outstanding Colorado community college students, including LCC’s own Miroslava Rangel and Rebecca Abrams, will be recognized.  All 27 students will receive scholarships from Johnson & Wales University and Regis University. Additionally, the highest rated individual in the group will be presented as Colorado’s “New Century Scholar” award honoree and given a $2,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and the Coca-Cola Foundation. The New Century Scholar will be invited to represent Colorado at the annual American Association of Community Colleges national convention.

Members of the Colorado General Assembly, the State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education, senior staff of the Colorado Community College System are invited to show their support at the event as well as community college presidents, community college PTK advisors and student guests.

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recognizes the academic achievement of two-year college students and is the largest honor society in American higher education.  To be eligible to belong to the PTK honor society, students must complete at least 12 hours of associate degree coursework and earn a minimum 3.5 grade point average. Colorado’s first PTK chapter was chartered in 1932 and today there are nearly two dozen active chapters in the state. More than 51,000 Colorado Community College students have been inducted over the last 83 years.

Filed Under: EducationEventsLamarMedia ReleaseSchoolYouth


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.