District VI on the Go

CSU Extension Website 


By Lacey Mann, CSU 4-H Extension Agent, Bent & Prowers Counties

Southeast Area— District VI 4-H members have been busy since the first of the year attending Leadership Development Conference, District Retreat, electing new officers and selecting Citizenship Washington Focus attendees, all the members have geared up for the 2013 year.   

In January, 25 4-H members and agents attended the annual LDC event in Denver.  Participants worked through workshops identifying “What’s Your H” and then demonstrating how they utilized their head, heart, hands and health as they worked through problem solving think tanks.  They wrapped up the weekend by visiting the Capitol and hearing from legislators from across the state.   

In March, 13 members and agents trekked to Nathrop to attend the South Central District Retreat.  This year’s theme, “Heroes Among Us,” taught youth how to find their inner hero, patriotism and then concluded with a community service project, writing letters to service men and women around the world.   

Following two winter storms that finally brought a little moisture to our Area, the District VI senators were finally able to hold their spring meeting and hold officer elections for the 2013-2014 year.  The newly elected President is Blake Mueller, Otero County; Vice president is Chelsea Lewis, Otero County; Secretary is Rod Hall, Crowley County; Treasurer is Lakota Roberson, Kiowa County; Reporter is Chad Russell, Crowley County; and the Executive Committee is Zane Jenkins, Baca County; Mitch Garcia, Bent County; and Kylee Holden, Prowers County.  These officers will begin their term July 1 and conclude June 30, 2014.   

District VI will be sending five youth and one agent to the annual Citizenship Washington Focus trip in Washington D.C. June 22 through 29.  “This is one of my favorite opportunities for the youth because they spend a week at the National 4-H Center understanding how a bill becomes a law, visiting our Capitol, legislators, staffers and seeing how important leadership is, especially on the grassroots level,” Lacey Mann, CSU Extension Southeast Area agent said.  This year’s representatives are Jeb Schroder, Baca County; Andi Hetrick, Baca County, Chad Russell, Crowley County, Blake Mueller, Otero County and Chase Holden, Prowers County. 

 If your child is interested in joining 4-H or you would like further information on the 4-H program, please contact your local CSU Extension Office; Baca County 719-523-6971, Bent County 719-456-0764, Cheyenne County 719-767-5716, Crowley County 719-267-5243, Kiowa County 719-438-5321, Otero County 719-254-7608, Prowers County 719-336-7734. 4-H is a cooperative effort between CSU Extension and the County. 

Contact: Lacey Mann
CSU Extension Agent
4-H Youth Development
(719) 336-7734
Email: lacey.mann@colostate.edu


Filed Under: AgricultureBusinesscommunityCountyEducationEntertainmentFeaturedGranadaLamarProwers CountyRecreationSchoolYouth


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.