Lamar Community College PTK Holds Spring Induction

(Lamar, Colorado, March 26, 2013) Lamar Community College’s Beta Eta Gamma chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honorary inducted 17 new members during the spring induction ceremony held on Monday March, 4. New inductees include: back row (left to right) Kindle Kirkham, Mikaila Martinez, Waylon Campbell, Clayton Ritterbusch, Clint Buringa, Kelsey Massey, and Emily Paulson. Front row (left to right) Keaton Buxton, Brenna Cash, Holli Pennington, Kira Kirkham, Kristina Morben, Taylor Chavez and Keaton Turner. Not pictured: Connor Crane, Nicholas Halliday, and Jamica McReavy.

After a welcome from Chapter President Chad Surprise, Brenda Brown, LCC Recruiter, was the guest speaker. Brenda is a graduate of LCC and a past member of Phi Theta Kappa. Brenda described what it means to “motivate the motivator” – that even high achievers have to protect and develop their inner drive and ambition, and that the students who were joining Phi Theta Kappa are her own inspiration at Lamar Community College.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic honor society to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. The Beta Eta Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa promotes academic excellence at LCC and is active on campus. To be eligible, students must have a 3.5 grade-point average after completing 12 or more credit hours of college-level work, be currently enrolled, and pursuing an AA, AS, or AGS degree. Induction of new members occurs every fall and spring semester. For more information on PTK at LCC, contact David Northrup at 335.1546 or Kelly Emick at 336.1532.

Filed Under: CollegecommunityCountyEducationFeaturedLamarProwers CountySchool


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.