PTK Holds Spring Induction

Lamar Community College’s Beta Eta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honorary inducted 22 new students in its spring induction on Thursday, March 23rd. After a welcome from President John Marrin, Amy Thompson, LCC’s coordinator of International Programs, mesmerized the inductees and a room full of guests and college staff with the value of an education.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic honor society to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. The Beta Eta Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa promotes academic excellence at LCC and is active on campus. To be eligible, students must have a 3.5 grade-point average or higher after completing 12 or more credit hours of college-level work, be currently enrolled at LCC, and pursuing an AA, AS, or AGS degree. Induction of new members occurs every fall and spring semester. Phi Theta Kappa students are eligible for more than $37 million in transfer scholarships available at over 700 four-year colleges and universities. For more information on PTK at LCC, contact David Northrup at 335.1546 or Kelly Emick at 336.1532.

New inductees include (first row, left to right): Whitney Crown, LeAnne Blaeser, Hillary Dwyer, Ratna Malkan, Chanelle Sutphin, and Ashley Lawrence; (middle row, left to right) Jordan Kemp, Jennifer Arguello, Regina Montoya, Laci Pennington, Jacob Reed, Jory Vermillion, and Kaitlin Ybarra; (back row, left to right) Evan Malone, Erin O’Neill, Michael Niedens, Austin Adamson, and Julia Tidswell. Not pictured are Nereida Aguirre, Adam Grudt, Jacob Klauck, and Monica McFarlin. This is one of the largest groups ever to be inducted in the chapter.


Filed Under: CollegecommunitySchoolYouth


About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.